Two pounds and one step

This weekend I got really frustrated with myself – with my weight, specifically. One of my roommates and I have been drinking an apple cider vinegar concoction twice a day for the last week and a half. She’s lost three pounds and I’ve gained two pounds. I may have gone a little crazy on the girl scout cookies this week, and clearly this drink was not an erasure of poor food choices, despite my meek efforts at the gym.

My big plan was to move here, join a gym, find a personal trainer, and then become skinny. Simple, right? If only. I moved here, took a few (ok 6) weeks to get motivated to go to a gym, met with a personal trainer twice and now I’m using her advice and Pinterest posts for my workouts, and yet I’m still the same weight as I was in January. I keep hoping a mile and a half walk around the neighborhood twice a week would cancel out the cake pops and cookies I keep eating from Starbucks, but I think it’s time to rethink my strategy.

Have you ever watched The Biggest Loser? I’m a huge fan – beyond following each trainer and the show itself on Facebook (which I do), that I watched Biggest Loser Australia on YouTube to watch Bob and Jillian help more people lose weight. Not just one, but THREE seasons. They’re amazing and I think you should watch the first two seasons if you want to be super motivated. Anyways… In one season of the American Biggest Loser Jillian said (roughly), “You did not get fat overnight so don’t expect become thin overnight.”

I think of this quote often to remind myself that it’s going to take me more than one healthy meal and one sweaty workout to lose weight, because it took more than one order of burger and fries and one night on the couch watching Lifetime movies. I have to remind myself often that a lot of small decisions got me here – not just my weight but in my life, and it will take me many more small decisions to get where I want to be.

Which, in the grand scheme of things, is why I titled this blog One Step Forward. I want to help remind you that forward is done one step at a time, and not to be overwhelmed with the big picture and how it’s going to happen. I know when I stare at a big goal for myself I get overwhelmed. But if I make a plan for the next step and sometimes the step after that, I know I will have a better idea what my next next step is after I’ve completed the first step. Does that make sense?

So instead of drowning my weight gain sorrows in a bowl of cookie dough ice cream, I’m choosing to make a small step: adding more vegetables into my meals and snacks. And going to the gym more than twice a week. I invite you to stop, breathe, and ask yourself, “What is the next step I can take?”

2 thoughts on “Two pounds and one step

  1. The only “diet”/lifestyle change that ever worked out for me is the 21 day fix. It makes eating healthy simple and changes the way you look at food. It’s easy to follow and teaches you it’s all about portion control so you don’t feel deprived. I highly recommend looking into it. Best of luck on your journey!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

